An Illusory Promise

Closing my eyes
I used to see
Beach and the
Reflection of returning sun
And there on the shore
A belove creature used to be
Who but thee
I propose you
To be my friend
And with a smile
On my palms
Your palms , I could see
More than the scenery
It was beautiful
The feeling of having a friend
Like you and the promise you made
Saying” I will always be there for you”
Illusion of my mind that this relation
Will never come to an end.
Now whenever the concrete down my feet
Becomes sand
And I stand on shore
Stretching my hand
The moment I realize
no longer you are
but only the images of the
blissful moment we spent together
On my palms I can see
I feel like getting lost
As you did
And leave the thread of one-sided frienship
That I carried.

“The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It's the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.”  ― Lois Lowry, The Giver

“The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.”
― Lois Lowry, The Giver

4 comments

  1. saimack bhakta · May 24, 2013

    very nice poem . You have written beautifully…….ishi tarha poem likhte jao aur famous hote jao.

  2. srisha · June 24, 2013

    Very emotive poem….Nice try.

  3. Yasha · July 22, 2013

    Too gud. Keep it up. I am dreaming for the day your anthology will be published.

  4. agrawalanjali · October 16, 2013

    Its beautiful and romantic. Liked it.

Leave a Reply

